The unforgotten : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Gallery Books, 2018.
ISBN
9781501181221, 150118122X
Status
Downers Grove Public Library - 2nd Floor - Adult
FICTION POWELL, L.
Description
Loading Description...
Also in this Series
Checking series information...
Copies
LocationCall NumberStatus
Downers Grove Public Library - 2nd Floor - AdultFICTION POWELL, L.On Shelf
LocationCall NumberStatus
Acorn Public Library District - StacksFIC POWELL, L.On Shelf
Alsip-Merrionette Park Public Library District - StacksF POWELLOn Shelf
Batavia Public Library District - Adult FictionFIC Powell, LauraOn Shelf
Bedford Park Public Library District - StacksF POWELLOn Shelf
Bensenville Community Public Library District - FictionPOWELLOn Shelf
Show All Copies
More Like This
Loading more titles like this title...
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Format
Book
Edition
First Gallery Books hardcover edition.
Physical Desc
291 pages ; 24 cm
Language
English

Notes

Description
"For fans of Louise Penny and Tana French, this haunting debut novel "with a slight Broadchurch feel" (Sunday Herald) explores the devastating repercussions of a long-ago crime as it delves into forbidden relationships, the emotional bond between mothers and daughters, and the dark consequences of harboring secrets. It is the summer of 1956, and fifteen-year-old Betty Broadbent has never left the Cornish fishing village of St. Steele or ventured far beyond the walls of the Hotel Eden, the slightly ramshackle boarding house run by her moody, unpredictable mother. But Betty's world is upended when a string of brutal murders brings London's press corps flooding into the village, many of whom find lodging at the Hotel Eden. She is instantly transfixed by one of the reporters, the mysterious and strangely aloof Mr. Gallagher--and he, fully twice her age, seems equally transfixed by her. The unlikely relationship that blooms between Betty and Mr. Gallagher is as overlaid with longing and desire as it is with impropriety and even menace. And as the shocking death toll rises, both Betty and Mr. Gallagher are forced to make a devastating choice, one that will shape their own lives--and the life of an innocent man--forever. With narratives that shift from 1956 to the present day and back, The Unforgotten is a mesmerizing and eerie portrayal of two people bound to each other by a secret that has the power to shape, and destroy, lives"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"A debut novel, atmospheric and haunting, about the devastating repercussions of a long-ago crime, for readers of Ruth Ware, Fiona Barton, and Paula Hawkins"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Powell, L. (2018). The unforgotten: a novel. First Gallery Books hardcover edition. New York: Gallery Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Powell, Laura. 2018. The Unforgotten: A Novel. New York: Gallery Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Powell, Laura, The Unforgotten: A Novel. New York: Gallery Books, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Powell, Laura. The Unforgotten: A Novel. First Gallery Books hardcover edition. New York: Gallery Books, 2018. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Loading Staff View.